Wassup Rockers


« Ahem. | Home | News to Me. »

Best Buy Ever.

Recently I got my tax refund check in the mail, and yesterday I got news of a new job, and I’m gonna get paid soon, so I decided to splurge on some good shit. I had a really good day even though walking outside meant being pelted by tiny pieces of hail flying everywhere–they seriously hurt! But I saw a friend I hadn’t seen in months, and I went into Other Music for the first time in a million years and all my favorite people were working there.

Things I bought:
– A Tim Maia compilation that only cost $9.
– The new Amy Winehouse.
– A Bollywood compilation that looks so fucking badass I couldn’t say no. I first heard about it from Nuyorker, but I got the 1st volume instead of the 2nd volume that they featured.
– THE MICHEL GONDRY DVD … it took me like a million years to buy it, but I finally have it in my hands.

Things I still need to get:

(1) The Calle 13 coming out next month. La Onda Tropical actually did a feature on the recently, you should download the song they put up.
(2) Fujiya & Miyagi to satisfy my inner hipster scum.
(3) The most recent Caetano Veloso.
(3) At Other Music I saw this crazy compilation of bugalú, and I got mad excited cos I thought it was gonna be a lot of local stuff… but it’s actually a compilation of Peruvian bugalú! (Here’s the link to the record label releasing it; the album is called ¡Gózalo!) I was a li’l disappointed about it being Peruvian, I admit, but now that I think about it I can’t believe I put that shit back on the shelf. I have to go back next week.
(4) The store also had used copies of Mohammed Rafi and Joe Bataan best ofs, IN ADDITION TO a Lula Côrtes & Zé Ramalho CD, so I hope they don’t disappear before I go back!!!

Meh, you should just refer to Hype Machine if you want stuff like Amy Winehouse or Fujiya & Miyagi.

So I was talking to my brother just now, who heard me playing Tim Maia and was like, “What is this??” He asked if I had more stuff like that. At first I was like, “No,” but then I remembered I’ve been meaning to play him some Ghetto Brothers shit. The best place for some audio samples is Waxidermy. Seriously, the Ghetto Brothers album is one of the best things I’ve heard in the past 6 months (at least!)… and check out the rest of the blog, which is pretty damn awesome.

I leave you with my fave Michel Gondry music video (maybe), Björk’s “Bachelorette.”

Leave a Reply

