Wassup Rockers



There’s No Place Like…

I checked out where I’m living next year. Before I headed out to the neighborhood one of my acquaintances, who happens to live there, told me that there’s like 1000 Indian restaurants within a ten block radius. Then I realized I’d been there before. I went to the Repertorio Español a few times before. It’s a cute little theater, all-Spanish material. But they’ve got this whole simultaneous English translation shit if you need it. Y’all should go and check it out if you have a chance. It’s been a few years since I’ve been there but they’re independent and I remember they was always super, super nice (that’s two supers!), so you should go there and see a play or two.

Anyways, other than that I wasn’t really familiar with the neighborhood and I was worried I’d have a hard time finding my building. But as soon as I got out of the train station I just followed the smell of curry. Pretty potent smell, especially considering that my nose has been getting stuffy what with all that allergy shit. There were lots of yellow cabs, too.

Walking crosstown was a bummer and (suspiciously too) quiet and for a sec I got worried. But–and this is cheesy–I saw a mailbox with a tag from a graf artist I really dig, so I felt a little better. I think I’m going to like this neighborhood. I checked out what my room is gonna be like next year. I get to live alone. It’ll be mad nice, I think. Hope people like me.

Some songs about home, in three very different styles:

Leadbelly – “Boll Weevil

Natalia y la Forquetina – “Casa

Scarface – “On My Block

Actually, when I was looking for the Scarface song on Soulseek, I got a lot of New Kids on the Block songs, hahaha. So here’s the video for “Step by Step,” which I seriously think is a great pop song and find the video to be absolutely incredible. C’est tout.

Leave a Reply

