Wassup Rockers



20 Going On…

I always complain about feeling old, which I know is ridic because I’m barely out of my teens. Well yesterday I hung out with three college freshmen, and I’m telling you, I felt OLD. Like, Rolling Stones old. Like, “Oh shoot, Harper Lee is still alive?” old. Okay, I’m overdoing it, but I was perplexed that I could be so different from people who are only 2 years younger (or maybe less) than me.

I know part of it is that I’ve distanced myself from the regular indie kids around me. I visit Super 45 instead of Pitchfork, I’ve got a Creative instead of an iPod, I like Café Tacuba better than Radiohead, etc. I dunno, as you can see it’s nothing major and I don’t think of myself as that different, but then I find myself with all these people and feel like I’m completely detached from the group of people I align myself with. I didn’t know half the bands these kids were talking about and I couldn’t decide whether I was missing out or they were wasting their time listening to things not worth hearing. I dunno.

I feel like one of the most important things about being a music fan is to really seek it out. There’s no time to be passive. If you love music, are you really gonna sit on your ass and wait for someone to tell you, “This is cool”? And if you don’t like what people tell you is cool? Are you just gonna sit around and mope about how much things suck, or are you gonna look for something that gives you the same high?

So I went to look out for that stuff and I found it, I love the shit I’ve been listening to, but now I feel very out of touch because none of my circle of friends really cares for it, and I haven’t really found anyone to share the music with. They’re out there, I know–thanks to Audioscrobbler! At the same time, however, it would be cool to meet a fellow Javiera Mena fan or Nuuro fan or a Zoé fan (see vid above) or even a Calle 13 fan in person.

Of course I’m not dissing the kids I was hanging out with. They were pretty cool and reminded me of what I used to be like freshman year. I can’t believe I just wrote that. Once again, I feel old as fuck.

Here’s some random tracks. The first is by Linton Kwesi Johnson, a “dub poet,” really awesome. The second is by Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, who I think is totally cute and has a sweet voice for country/folk/traditional shit. Both artists have been going at it for decades. I hope I last that long just being a music fan.

Linton Kwesi Johnson – “Making History
Ramblin’ Jack Elliott – “Honey, Where You Been So Long?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Roland says:

    Hey, no offense taken! I mean, I think I’ve changed a lot in the last year, and I can’t even begin to imagine how things will be in a couple more years. But seriously, thanks so much for coming along; sorry about the line. Blonde Redhead’s actually coming back on May 8th at Webster Hall, but that’s in the midst of finals week, so I guess we’ll see.

    Anyways, when I got back yesterday, I was trawling through Oh My Rockness, and I realized that this random band I like is playing the Knitting Factory tomorrow night:

    http://www.myspace.com/vedera

    Give me a ring (or IM) if you’re interested, and keep up the good work!
    Roland

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  2. * electriklu says:

    Hello there! so today i was randomly googling nuuro who happens to be my best friend.. and i am so freakin amazed how random people know him and how he actually has fans .. thats god damn wack.. so anyways congratulations on your good taste of music! :)

    Lau from Glau

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

