Wassup Rockers



Nowhere to Run.

Once again I am late to the party, but I really have to say this: Dizzee Rascal‘s video for “Sirens” is awesome. Of Dizzee Rascal’s previous music videos, I’ve seen “Fix Up, Look Sharp,” “I Luv U,” and “Dream,” the latter of which is one of the weirdest videos I’ve seen and definitely one of my favorites. But “Sirens” is really amazing, too. The cinematography is crazy—it almost makes me feel like music videos still get decent budgets to make quality work, not just rush jobs.

Anyway, I love the idea of Dizzee being pursued by these posh people on horses. It actually feels intense, and the ending was gross. There’s this whole shit about tradition and modernity. (Well, on Antville people argued that it was more about class and race, which is probably a more valid interpretation.) Damn. The images are beautiful. Honestly, you shouldn’t watch the YouTube vid (below), you should go to the Antville post and download it in higher quality.

Oh, and the song ain’t half-bad, neither. Why didn’t nü-metal ever sound like this?!?! J/K!!

This definitely feels like grime translated into video. Like the previous Dizzee videos I’ve seen had bounce and attitude and all that, but this video looks like such a dark urban dystopia. Great shit, especially when I was thinking about what a disappointment grime has turned out to be (what up, Sov?). And I love me Kano but he’s very polished and radio-friendly, far more so than Dizzee, right? At least that’s what I think.

Unrelated: I’ve updated my LAMC list a bit. Someone reliable told me Café Tacuba are playing Central Park, which I expected anyway. (I mean, if last year Gustavo Cerati played, and the year before it was Aterciopelados, I’m not surprised that such a big band would play Central Park.) The Celebrate Brooklyn line-up is up on their website; Zoé are headlining with Chetes and The Pinker Tones are opening. I’m surprised that Chetes got the shit billing. Also, I’m not such a big fan of The Pinker Tones, so I’m a bit grumpy that they’re playing between Chetes and Zoé. Oh well, they better blow me away live, that’s all I’m saying.

Someone heard my pleas for help in updating my list! NYRemezcla are planning summer show guide which they’ll have ready by Memorial Day weekend, I think. Should be awesome, so if you’re in the city you should be on the lookout for it.

Leave a Reply

