Wassup Rockers



RIP Stylus

So! Yours truly spent most of her weekend crying. And let me tell you, I only have school from Monday to Wednesday, so it was a whole lotta cryin’.

Just when I felt like maybe I’d get better, I learned some terrible news. Stylus has gone the way of Punk Planet. Kaput! As always, I seem to be the last to know. I know, I know, it’s not like some person has died, but I feel like it is a huge blow for the more professional set of online music publications. In a sea of music blogs that don’t pay enough attention to grammar, thoughtful critiques, fact-checking, and the like (I’m guilty of this, natch!), websites like Stylus were a breath of professional air. For me, at one point, the site was part of my Big Three: Pitchfork, Tiny Mix Tapes, and Stylus. For some reason or other my interest in the first two sites waned (even though at one point I wrote for TMT!), but I never shook off the allure of Stylus.

What can I say? I have to love a site that takes Sugababes as seriously as… ohh, let’s choose Sonic Youth. Y’see what I’m sayin’? And I think it will be hardest to know that the Singles Jukebox will never update again. I always thought they had some ingenious Top 10 features, too.

Here’s a link to a lot of their greatest, though they probably missed a lot of great shit, too. They definitely included one of my most favorites, “Top 101-200 Favorite Albums Ever.” What a brilliant concept. Go check it out and get ready to feel offended that some of your favorite albums didn’t make the Top 100. This feature includes blurbs from my friend Kareem, who is now a bigger radio-head than a music writing-head, as well as his biffle Andrew “King of Trivia” Unterberger.

They also included the “On Second Thought” feature on Mariah Carey’s Xmas album, which I also liked a lot.

Well, tomorrow’s the last day, too soon for me. Really, even until last week it felt like there was nothing wrong with Stylus. I mean check out this delightful recent feature on “Top Ten Latin-Pop Songs of the 21st Century.” I know the site has changed a lot over the years, but I still feel like they’re going out on top.

Of course… I’ll be waiting for the “reunion tour.” :)

Coño… me están rompiendo el corazón…

Leave a Reply

