Wassup Rockers



In The Movies.

For some strange reason the syllabi for two of my classes pretty much collided and in the past week or two, I’ve been learning a lot about Cuba. So I got an overload of films made by ICAIC (Instituto Cubano del Arte e Industria Cinematográficos). Basically it’s a state-based film center. I saw Memorias del subdesarrollo (excellent!) and Fresa y chocolate (very good!), both by Tomás Gutiérrez Alea, and Retrato de Teresa, which was directed by Pastor Vega. I didn’t think this last movie was all that except for Daisy Granados (that woman is mad fierce) and the music which was absolutely jammin’. I cannot stop thinking about the song that plays during the opening credits. It’s so beautiful. I want to find the soundtrack but I don’t even know if there is one. I don’t know if the movie is available on DVD, either. Probably not. Bah!! You know how some songs just grow on you? THIS IS NOT IT. It hits you and you just fall in love immediately when you hear the song. This is gonna kill me.

Leave a Reply

