Wassup Rockers



Part Time Lover + A Full Time Friend

Rilo Kiley – “I Never

My token 90s friend asked me what I’d like my wedding song to be. I laughed heartily and almost chose something really terrible, but my sincere answer is “I Never” by Rilo Kiley. I figured I’d share.

But yeah, I hope I die before I get married.

Oh by the way, I saw Juno and I thought Michael Cera was so good in it! He kinda made me cry. It was a really cute movie, plus it had a gratuitous Sonic Youth dis which I appreciated wholeheartedly.

Okay, I’m off to bed, now.

EDIT 12/18: I just realized a lot of people are googling the phrase “part time lover and full time friend,” I’m assuming because you’re trying to find out what the song is. The Moldy Peaches‘ “Anyone Else But You” is featured heavily in the movie, here is a link to the soundtrack. The soundtrack includes the version by Ellen Page and Michael Cera. Try to avoid Amazon (+ iTunes) and buy from your local indie store though! They need your support!

EDIT 1/21: Holy weird shit Batman! I was just watching The View (shut up!) and Kimya and Adam were totally on the show to sing “Anyone Else But You”! Oh my god. So weird. As soon as I saw the movie I felt tremors that there would be a Moldy Peaches renaissance. It’s not that I hate the band–I liked them okay when I was younger, I loved “Lucky Number Nine,” but c’mon, they haven’t been together for years. They’ve moved on and I’ve moved on, and I really don’t care to hear from people, “OMG have you heard that great new band, The Moldy Peaches?” What am I gonna say? “Yeah, back in 2001”?

Anyway, they seemed very shy and detached during the performance, and I couldn’t tell if it was because they didn’t want to retread their old stuff or if they were just weirded out by the fact they were ON THE FUCKING VIEW, but they interviewed very nicely.

Then again, this might lead people to learn about “anti-folk” which will lead people to learn about people like Jeffrey Lewis!

EDIT 2/11: I got the New York Times yesterday and Ellen Page was on the cover. They call her performance in Juno a “breakthrough,” which is not something I will argue. (Click on the NYT link, there’s video footage.) Oh man, and Jason Reitman was featured on CBS Sunday Morning! I’m jealous. If I ever wanted to be famous, that would be a landmark for me. You know you’re really famous when even old people are hip on who you are. Congratulations, dude!

Leave a Reply

