Wassup Rockers



A Vampire-less Weekend.

Today I found myself chilling near Washington Square Park with a big bag from Housing Works, and I was captivated with this pigeon who pecked without mercy at this crushed, green M&M. I wondered if it was his (her?) tendency to eat all its food that way, or if he just enjoyed M&M’s as much as I do. (As a matter of fact, I had a bag of dark chocolate M&M’s in the Housing Works bag, waiting to be eaten.) I assume it was the latter notion because he didn’t leave one bit of candy on the ground.

I went to Housing Works to buy some deeply discounted literary magazines. Got some really cool stuff, and each magazine was about $2. You know how some people go to sample sales to catch some awesome designer swag at really really cheap prices? That’s how I am with books, so I relished every moment I was at the bookstore.

Yesterday I went to go see Kid Sister at Central Park. The problem–and this was a big problem–was that the headliners were Vampire Weekend, so I was aware that there was gonna be a shitload of people at the show. Still, I did NOT want to risk sunstroke while waiting on the line to gain entrance, so I arrived half an hour before the gates opened. Except the line was like half a mile long. I’m not exaggerating. Seriously, I don’t know who a lot of these people were. The couple behind definitely knew nothing except that they’d heard from someone in passing, and said individual expressed that he (she?) didn’t like Vampire Weekend. They’d never even been to a Summer Stage show. There were five people in the party in front of me, all of them South Asian. Two of them were young enough that they probably knew who was actually playing, but the three others were old enough to be everyone’s Aunties. In spite of everything, my inner cheapskate thought, “Well, I have nothing to do, might as well just wait cos how many chances will I have to see Kid Sis for free.” I kept thinking that even as a drizzle started. The drizzle actually felt good, “It’s just water,” I kept telling myself, and it was much better than the muggy heat.

Interlude: phone call with Roland.

[Sound of thunder.]
Roland: Whoa!
Me: I know. God is trying to punish everyone for wanting to see Vampire Weekend.

(To quote Travis Bickle: “Someday a real rain will come and wash all this scum off the streets…”)

Scattered individuals kept telling us that the venue was already at capacity, but I didn’t wanna budge until somebody told us officially. Once again: FREE Kid Sis = I’d rather wait. Eventually I did accept that I wouldn’t get in, so I just ran over to get as close to the stage as possible without gaining access. (The concerts are loud enough that you can hear really well from outside if you’re within a few yards.) Except by this point it was raining harder. Once again: rain = a li’l bit of water.

My breaking point was when I realized I was soaked right through my underwear. So I peaced out. I found an Au Bon Pain and had some soup. I was pretty grouchy yesterday, but in hindsight, it was pretty LOL-worthy. Except for the fact that I was soaked right through, it was kinda fun, even if I didn’t get to see Kid Sis.

Leave a Reply

