Wassup Rockers



Deerhoof + Metropolis Ensemble @ Celebrate Brooklyn.

To The Kid I Yelled At For Standing On His Seat At The Beginning Of The Deerhoof Set:

I know I was cranky at you and it sucks to be yelled at, but I seriously appreciate that you listened and got off your seat. I know we were all there for the music and that seeing the band isn’t as crucial, but come on, if I hadn’t wanted to see the Deerhoofers, I could have stayed home and just listened to my CDs, right? And even though they were so distant and tiny, I really loved being able to see them instead of spending the entire hour they were on stage staring at your derrière. Honestly, I don’t know what you were hollerin’ at me for, about how you couldn’t see them well, cos after you got off the seat, I saw you record plenty of video footage without any problems. But yeah, seriously, thank you so much for actually stepping down from your seat.

Stay fresh,
Elizabeth U.

Welllll. The Metropolis Ensemble were pretty cool. I wasn’t too hot on the first piece, which to my ears, meandered too much without a proper anchor. The soprano, Hila Plitmann, was seriously talented, her voice captured every subtlety well, but I was mad spooked when she started this spoken part. I dunno, for some reason it gave me the heebie-jeebies.

The first piece was no comparison to the ensemble’s reinterpretation of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring. Giving it a more electronic spin was cool. All right, so I wasn’t scandalized the way people were back in the early 20th century. And there were certain points when I was like, “This sounds like a soundtrack to a sci-fi movie made in the 70s or 80s.” (Where all my theremins at, right??) Pero, when it came down to it, the ensemble was totally rockin’ that shit. Real badass.

Deerhoof were absolutely lovely. I didn’t know a lot of the songs and assumed they played a lot of new shit, though after a few unfamiliar songs I panicked and was like, “What if they’re just old songs I’m not familiar with?!?!” Truth is, I only own like two of their albums; I’ve heard like three or four of them in their entirety and they’re mad prolific so who knows what I’m been missing!! They might have played old stuff, though I doubt it. The newer stuff, for some reason, sounded more melancholic to my ears. They played some great older shit, but c’mon, they didn’t even do “Panda Panda Panda.” I know “Running Thoughts” would be asking for too much, but why not “Panda Panda Panda”?? Inquiring minds wanna know.

Yo, Greg Saunier is crazy. He went up to the mic a couple of times and was Paula Abdul-level incoherent, though he managed to inform us we could pick up free sheet music for their first Offend Maggie single, “Fresh Born,” at the Celebrate Brooklyn booth. All the fanboys were geeking. There was one kid who was dancing so intensely he was like, having seizures. Imagine how crazy he dances when he’s alone in his room?!?! Anyways, Greg is fucking awesome, it’s like his inner rhythm machine has only three settings, Supersoft, Hard and SUPERFUCKINGHARD. It didn’t dawn on me until today that the reason he looks so huge at the drums is not just because he’s damn tall, it’s also because the kit hardly has any pieces. Maybe like three pieces… I mean, Nick Andopolis would laugh his ass off at Greg’s kit, y’know what I’m sayin’? The other thing that I realized is that as jerky and out of control he might seem, Greg is totally right on when it comes to keeping time. Dude’s brilliant.

Oh my god, and since when are there four ‘hoofies again? I totally haven’t kept up since Friend Opportunity kinda disappointed. So that was a surprise. New guy didn’t say much, everyone else said thanks and stuff like that. Hilarious, cos the mic is at Satomi’s level and John and Greg had to crouch down a lot to speak into it. Man, I can’t wait to see this band again.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * twodishes says:

    Wow, best show of any band in like two years, for me.
    Best moment is half the band off stage while they hold the feedback note on the guitar for, what, 40 seconds, frozen like statues.

    An aged fan there to see the Rite of Spring was cranky, yelling at fans rushing the aisle between the folding chairs. He was super old. His reading material between sets was the plastic bag of free supermarket flyers that the mailman leaves on the doorstoop.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

