Wassup Rockers



Teacher Man.

Oh my god. Frank McCourt actually died. I’d recently read he was really ill, but I didn’t expect him to die so soon.

Angela’s Ashes actually had a huge impact on me as a kid. I read it in middle school, and it was one of the first “grown up” books I read. I also hadn’t mastered English completely, so it was a huge thrill to know that I could read and follow a book that didn’t even use quotation marks for the dialogue. It was as if McCourt was committing a sin, and that I was in on the joke.  I haven’t reread the book in years and years, but I still have very fond memories of reading it.

(Of course as I’ve grown up I’ve encountered plenty of books that don’t denote dialogue with quotations or emdashes, but Angela’s Ashes was the first.)

I remember going to a Korean cram school, a rival to the one I eventually ended up attending, and seeing his picture up on the wall. Mind you, there was no caption on the picture stating that this was Frank McCourt, Famous Memoirist of Angela’s Ashes.  But believe me, I knew it was him.  It didn’t surprise me at all to see a picture of him teaching at a cram school.

Leave a Reply

