Wassup Rockers



Who’s Watching?

Last year I heard about Antonio Campos’s Afterschool and I thought it sounded lame.  Like why would I care about angsty privileged teenagers desensitized by the technology that surrounds them blah blah blah.  But now it’s in a theatrical run and the reviews are out, there’s been plenty of press… and they’ve been pretty damn positive.  So it seriously caught my attention.

Impulsively, I went to the movie theater after work and bought myself a ticket even though I have a test tomorrow.  It was my first time at Cinema Village.  Can you imagine?  I passed by the theater almost every week for four years (the school newspaper offices were across the street) and as much as I love movies I never fucking went in!  I was also very curious by this Vulture post about Antonio Campos, which mentioned that he’d be willing to meet with audience members for coffee if they couldn’t make it to a screening with a Q&A.  I just wasn’t sure if it was for real, but I can confirm that it’s actually true.  Not sure if anyone has tried it out though.  I’m gonna call him tomorrow and see if I can talk to him about the movie.

The movie was really good and I’m pretty sure I liked it, too.  Maybe.  I mean there were definitely uncomfortable scenes, like this one sequence where this kid talks shit about another kid’s sister and it’s just long and lewd and you’re just like, “Please, just put a bar of soap in this kid’s mouth so he’ll shut the fuck up” and all the other kids sitting around the lunch table are like trying to ignore the filthy kid and…  I don’t know, I was just squirming.

The subject of the movie and the way it’s handled is pretty heavy, too.  But I never felt bored, I was always wondering what was going to happen next.  And there were a couple of familiar faces–Rosemarie DeWitt, who barely shows her face, and Michael Stuhlbarg, whose Hamlet did nothing for me at Shakespeare in the Park last year so it was pretty awesome to see that he’s actually a good actor when not doing drastically “interesting” interpretations of Shakespeare.  (Wow, that last sentence makes me sound like a bitch…  Sorry dude!  Congrats on the Coen Bros. movie!)

Fuck, okay, my post is already too long.  I want to dwell on the movie extensively but basically, the movie was cool and you should go see it and feel uncomfortable.  Also, there was a Q&A after the screening I attended; Campos wasn’t there cos apparently he was too busy partying hard with Michael Haneke (heh), but he sent his producer Josh… Josh something.  Unfortunately I didn’t catch his last name.  Well, the sucky thing is that by the time he came to do the Q&A the credits were over and almost everyone was gone.  The producer guy seemed kinda bummed.  There were literally four of us with him in the theater, so we just had a heart-to-heart about art and inspiration and la-dee-da.

Okay, not really.  But it was seriously fun and since the producer dude wouldn’t answer any questions about the content of the film (and believe me, I have plenty of questions about the story itself), I asked him a lot of questions about just the more business-y stuff.  It was a nice Q&A, if only because it really felt more like a conversation.  Some Q&As can be quite lame, but this one was pretty sweet.

Leave a Reply

