Wassup Rockers



Book(list)keeping.

I was thinking about the stuff I read this year, and I only came up with the following underwhelming list, in no specific order:

(1) El llano en llamas by Juan Rulfo.
(2) Cuentos de amor de locura y de muerte by Horacio Quiroga.
(3) Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi.
(4) The Chosen by Chaim Potok.
(5) The Promise also by Chaim Potok.
(6) The Proof by Agota Kristof.
(7) The Third Lie again by Agota Kristof.
(8) A shitload of Fables by Bill Willingham.
(9) Also a shitload of Y: The Last Man, by Brian K. Vaughan, but I haven’t finished the series yet.
(10) Alan’s War by Emmanuel Guibert.
(11) The Dirty Girls Social Club by Alisa Rodríguez-Valdés, definitely the worst book I read all year.
(12) The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.
(13) And Both Were Young by Madeleine L’Engle.
(14) The 33 1/3 on Nas’s Illmatic by Matthew Gasteier
(15) The 33 1/3 on Wire’s Pink Flag by Wilson Neate
(16) The 33 1/3 on Celine Dion’s Let Talk About Love by Carl Wilson
(17) About a dozen One Story issues, I still have a few to catch up on.  My favorite one was “Frost Mountain Picnic Massacre” by Seth Fried.
(18) I can’t remember anymore, but I’m pretty sure I read some more comics, like Gipi, whose artwork I really love. I read a shitload of magazine articles. I also tried reading more poetry, and hardly anything stuck, which makes me sad. Maybe I’ll have better luck next year. Finally, I’m currently on Mala onda by Alberto Fuguet, which I thought was gonna be lame, but it’s been really enjoyable and as it’s progressed it’s gotten increasingly juicy (or, actually, increasingly jew-cy…).

I already have a brief list of things to read for the next year. I hope my “to be read” mission goes better in 2010. I’m such an undisciplined reader. My mom bought me a copy of Janice Y. K. Lee’s The Piano Teacher, and my brother got me a copy of Brave Story by Miyuki Miyabe for Christmas. When I saw the cover for Brave Story I thought it was a comic, and I was also excited by how weird it was. (So much for not judging books by their cover, heh…) It made me feel a little better about having bought The Squirrel Machine for him, which I thought he’d find too freaky. But maybe he’ll like it. I hope he does.

Also on my list is Joy in the Morning by Betty Smith. Yes, that Betty Smith. You wouldn’t believe how shocked I was to realize she’d written more than A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I have such a huge pile of unread books, though, I really need to curb my spending on books because they accumulate and I don’t get enough of a chance to read them. For the next year I’m gonna lay off war-related books. The Agota Kristof stories did a serious number on me; I read that shit in the Spring and I’m only just recovering. That’s why I read so much light stuff after that. I’d like to go more humorous next year.

I’d like to begin this new decade with a smile.

Leave a Reply

