Wassup Rockers



Avión al Sur.

I went on a short trip to Lima, Perú. Got some cool stuff:

El rey siempre está por encima del pueblo by Daniel Alarcón.
Salon de belleza and Damas chinas by Mario Bellatin (bound in one volume).
Don Quijote, the Ediciones Cátedra version that has books I and II in separate volumes.
Paradiso by José Lizama Lima.
Un lugar llamado Oreja de Perro by Iván Thays.
Vida de Don Quijote y Sancho by Miguel de Unamuno.

I also bought my brother a copy of El diario de el Chavo del Ocho, by Roberto Gómez Bolaños. We used to have a copy when I was a kid, but when we moved to the US I took it to school one day to show my classmates and by the end of the day the book had fucking disappeared! Goddamnit. I still feel bad about it. I’m sure you find it quite sad that I’ve been feeling guilty about this for 14 years, especially since it wasn’t my fault that some dickwad decided to steal it.

I failed to buy plenty of stuff. First, I wanted to get the current Etiqueta Negra. I finally saw a copy at the airport on my way home, but I didn’t even stop to look at it because I thought I was running out of time. I also wanted some Ortega y Gasset, Dorfman and Mattelart, some Luisa Valenzuela… I also saw a copy of Apuntes Autistas and I wish I’d grabbed that as well. Bah!

I also bought some CDs:

Jessico by Babasónicos.
Solo ellos… by Los Destellos (they have a song called “Elizabeth”!).
Hu Hu Hu by Natalia Lafourcade.
El ritmo de Los Shain’s by Los Shain’s. Never heard of them but I wanted to know more about Peruvian music, plus they looked totally right on on the cover, haha.
Reptilectric by Zoé.

Anyway, I had a lot of fun and I’d love to return!

Leave a Reply

